FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Meghan Jensen VP Marketing & Communications <u>MJensen@thewatercouncil.com</u> (414) 988-8754



The Water Council Board of Directors Names New Co-Chairs

MILWAUKEE (*January 31, 2019*) – The Water Council today announced the appointment of two new cochairs to its <u>board of directors</u> beginning January 2019. The new co-chairs hold executive positions with industry-leading, global water technology companies headquartered in Milwaukee.

Todd Adams, president and CEO for Rexnord Corporation, and Jim Stern, executive vice president for A. O. Smith Corporation, will replace Rich Meeusen, who recently retired from Badger Meter and Paul Jones, former chairman and CEO of A. O. Smith. Continuing to serve as board members, Meeusen and Jones, co-founded and co-chaired The Water Council ten years ago and were instrumental in the early creation and development of the global water technology cluster organization.

Todd Adams – President and CEO, Rexnord Corporation

Todd Adams is the president and CEO of Rexnord Corporation, a growth-oriented diversified industrial company, with annual revenues of \$2.1 billion and 7,000 associates worldwide. Todd joined Rexnord in 2004. He has been the company's president and CEO since 2009 and also serves on its board of directors.

Todd is a member of the board of directors of Badger Meter, Inc. He is also a member of Marquette University's board of trustees and serves on the board of Children's Hospital of Wisconsin and Hunger Task Force.

"The Water Council has accomplished so much in its first 10 years," said Todd Adams. "I have tremendous respect for Dean Amhaus, Paul Jones and Rich Meeusen and I'm honored to serve as co-chair alongside Jim Stern. I look forward to working with the other board members to continue to advance The Water Council as a solution provider on the national and global stage."

Jim Stern – Executive Vice President, A. O. Smith Corporation

Jim Stern joined A. O. Smith Corporation as executive vice president, general counsel and secretary in June 2007. A. O. Smith Corporation is a global leader applying innovative technology and energy efficient solutions to manufacture and market residential and commercial water heating, water treatment and air purification

products. In addition to his legal, compliance and government affairs roles, Jim spends a significant portion of his time on corporate development and the company's global water treatment business, in which he chairs the company's global water treatment steering committee.

Jim currently serves on the board of directors of Badger Meter, Inc., the National Association of Manufacturers and the Water Quality Association. He also currently serves on a number of charitable boards, including the Archdiocese of Milwaukee, Seton Catholic Schools and the Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee.

"Paul and Rich, and all who have been involved for the past decade with The Water Council, have built a remarkable foundation, and I look forward to working with Todd, Dean and the whole Board to build upon that success," says Jim Stern.

"Spearheading The Water Council as an idea in 2007 with Paul Jones and growing the organization into an award-winning, influential cluster organization in the U.S. has been an honor," said Rich Meeusen. "I have great confidence that co-chairs Todd Adams and Jim Stern will do a great job. I have enjoyed working with The Council and its members and will continue to be involved on the board of directors."

"Rich and Paul are two business leaders who truly gave their heart and soul to help grow and mature The Water Council," stated Dean Amhaus, president and CEO of The Water Council. "We will have eternal gratitude for what they provided to The Water Council. As we transition the board, they have passed the baton on to two great leaders, who once again represent all aspects of the water cycle."

The newly appointed co-chairs were elected at the fourth quarter board meeting held on December 5, 2018 in Milwaukee and began their term January 1, 2019.

###

About The Water Council

Headquartered in the Global Water Center in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, next to the world's largest freshwater system, The Water Council (TWC) is a non-profit organization that drives economic, technology and talent development to support the global water industry. As the leading U.S. cluster, and one of the most powerful water technology hubs in the world, the organization convenes global water leaders and supports more than 180 members from small and mid-sized businesses and large global corporations to engineers, entrepreneurs, utilities, government agencies, academia and non-profits, with valuable services, programming and networking opportunities. Established as a 501(c)(3) in 2009, the driving force behind The Water Council's success is the vibrant spirit of collaboration between public, private and academic sectors with a strong, shared commitment to finding innovative solutions to critical global water challenges. Learn more by visiting www.thewatercouncil.com.



Todd Adams

Co-Chair Todd Adams President & CEO Rexnord

Co-Chair Jim Stern Executive Vice President A. O. Smith Corporation

Treasurer Julia Taylor President Greater Milwaukee Committee

Kirk Allen President & CEO Sloan Valve Company

Tom Barrett Mayor City of Milwaukee

Scott Beightol Partner Michael Best & Friedrich LLP

Steve Booth President & CEO Robert W. Baird & Company, Inc.



Jim Stern

2019 Board of Directors

Tricia Braun Deputy Secretary & COO Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation

Mary Jean Huston State Director The Nature Conservancy

Paul Jones Retired Chairman A. O. Smith Corporation

Dennis Klein CD Smith Construction

Michael R. Lovell President Marquette University

John Matthews Principal Matthews Strategic Services, LLC

Rich Meeusen Chairman Badger Meter, Inc.

Mark Mone Chancellor University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee **Puon Penn** Executive Vice President Wells Fargo Technology Banking Group

Kevin Shafer Executive Director Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District

Deon van As Vice President, Global Supply Chain Excellence MolsonCoors

Jim Zarzycki National Advisory Council Member Federal Laboratories Consortium

Dean Amhaus President & CEO The Water Council