The Water Council is proud to announce that Scott Beightol, partner at Milwaukee law firm Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, has been appointed the new chairman of its board of directors.

“Now more than ever, the world needs water solutions in the form of new technology and improved water stewardship,” Beightol said. “I’m eager to build on The Water Council’s 15 years of work on global water challenges and lead this organization that has put its stamp on Milwaukee as a world water hub.”

Beightol succeeds Jim Stern, executive vice president at A. O. Smith Corporation. Stern was appointed chairman in January 2019. He will continue to serve on the board and lead its water stewardship committee. Ken Bockhorst, chairman, president and CEO of Badger Meter, will continue as vice chairman. Mark Mone, chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, has been appointed board treasurer.

Michael Best is a longtime supporter of The Water Council, serving as its general counsel. Beightol is Michael Best’s industry group chair for water and was elected to The Water Council’s board in 2018.

The Water Council is celebrating its 15th anniversary in 2024. Last year, it received a National Science Foundation grant to develop a resiliency and sustainability engine in Wisconsin for manufacturers and utilities. It also has expanded its water stewardship mission in recent years with the launch of WAVE: Water Stewardship Verified, an enterprise-wide verification program for companies, universities and other organizations.

“Under Jim’s tenure, we have expanded our vision of what it means to be a place Where Water Works,” said Dean Amhaus, The Water Council president and CEO. “I know Scott is the right person to build on that momentum. We’re excited to see where he takes The Water Council in the next few years.”